Primitive ‘Morning Dove’ Print

A New Year arrived and I still remember Christmas day, the winter air was crisp, enticing and filled with a dash of fresh coolness and the scent of ever-green foliage. Nature signaled that this year will be filled with opportunities!

treesunshine

I had glanced outside the frosted window pane and noticed that throughout the woods, vibrant and dancing sunshine draped its warm light up against broad tree trunks. This Christmas no pressured requirements transpired such as the necessary tree to accent the living room, Holiday light strings to unwind or the unboxing of tinsel decorations. Absolutely no signs of depression or thoughts of doom, all I wanted for Christmas would be an offering of Holiday cheer. After-all, some years a person could just feel enlightened and this was one of them. My primary focus became directed to the art of gift giving. At times past midnight the knitting felt like my life calling to work at a real Santa’s workshop located in the frigid cold of the North Pole. Having worked in the distant past as a somewhat inspired elf, graphic artist, on a weekly newspaper in Yorktown, I again found myself feeling a bit under a frantic time budget with a shortness of breath deadline. And, it required manual plus articulated speed. I also felt confidence that this gift idea should work primarily because of an experience of a life-time ago. My mother instructed me at a young age the craft of knitting and this skilled lesson was imprinted in my brain knittedhatdesignand only to re-surface as a calling this year. I designed, one, two, three brightly colored sherpa hats. And, one, two, three, four, five, six, neck or head warmers wrapped in fragile brightly colored tissue papers and neatly placed into a gift bag. Karma struck or I should say it was Gods’ love shining upon me when I found perfect complimentary gift bags that pictured a lifelike, reindeer wearing black framed spectacles and a knitted Christmas scarf.
A Holiday card is a prime necessity and must convey a harmonious gesture of good tidings for next year. Also a card that could be enjoyed throughout the year! The ultimate unique artistic gift should also posses this requirement, a decorative topping like sweet icing to a cup cake. Therefore, I hunted down the black wired basket that housed every necessary tool for the makings of a linotype print. ‘One of a kind,’ I murmured to myself and in celebration of nature and Gods’ glory should be interpreted into a primitive design. After many hours of tedious carving, a primitive ‘Morning Dove’ appeared on the wooden block, as if it came from the same time when a morning dove found its way onto my front porch. I was truly blessed when she crafted a woven nest inside the beautiful hanging basket of red geraniums. I enjoyed watching this dove produce eggs and teeny birds that eventually learned by their mother how to fly. While thinking about these pleasant thoughts from the past to soft Christmas chamber music chimes, I lined the finished prints upon the drafting table, carefully taping down for trimming and then lightly adhering the print to a white card stock base. Indeed it was a perfect highlight to the brightly colored knitted gifts.

morningdovered

Permanence is the utmost virtue and by using a very fine black marker, I scripted a message inside each card that conveyed to its reader a flight of fancy for this ‘Morning Dove’ print.
‘This print could also be matted and framed if one chooses to do so, thus carrying the spirit of Christmas throughout the years to come.’ Enjoy your primitive print, ‘Morning Dove’!
Hoping that inside my spirit the primitive ‘Morning Dove’ flight will never end, and be enjoyed by all, I placed each gift bag into its own designated brown, top priority, cardboard shipping box and let it fly by postal service!
Now it’s time for the next project! – Spring-time, anyone!

Leave a Reply

